Intro

Hey guys! This is my first post on my life-long journey to getting healthy!

I have always been overweight, even since I was a child but the last few years have just been a nightmare with weight gain. I’ve tried a million different diets since high school and they all just work for a short period of time. As soon as I would go off of them, I would gain the weight back and then some. I’ve thought of weight loss surgery before but I never thought I was big enough to qualify. I thought you’d have to be over 300lbs for that and have many health risks. But recently I’ve learned that this was not the case.

About 2 months ago I was watching an episode of Bones and a girl on there had bariatric surgery and looked amazing. This got me curious… I know this was just a show and none of it was real. So I begin to research it… then my roommate’s co-worker got it done a month ago and I have been asking her a million questions. It sounded like the best thing ever. So I signed up for the seminar at St. Agnes Hospital on Jan 19th (in Maryland where she got her surgery done). I called my insurance and found out that I do qualify since my BMI is over 40.

In the past couple of weeks I’ve been gathering paperwork that my insurance needs, scheduled my nutrition classes, psych evaluation, and appointment with the surgeon. I’ll explain all of these in later posts. By the end of next week I will have finished all of these and then they can submit my packet to insurance. Eeek! I’m just wayyy to excited.

Why do I want to get bariatric surgery???

Well like I said, I’ve battled weight my whole life and my family has a history of health related issues that I will most likely get if I don’t change my ways. I am pre-diabetic, have joint pain (mostly my ankles and lower back), have insulin resistance, and have PCOS. Fun stuff. Most of these conditions can be corrected or at least mitigated with weight loss… so that’s the main goal. To get healthy. But looking good is a major plus!

2 thoughts on “Intro

  1. Dana Bean. Hi my surgery sister! I always wondered where to find you, I am now a happy follower and hope you’re feeling well and resting up, please take care! -J.

Leave a Reply

