Body Conscious

I came across this post today. It was so beautifully written and I couldn’t of described it any better myself. We have to remember to love our bodies the way they are and not try to become those stick thin, commercialized robots posted all over today’s media sources.

Old Broads Run… A journey of faith and fitness after 50

 I was in a never ending checkout line recently, and in a shopping cart a couple of people ahead of me was a young child, being entertained by his mother.  He was having none of it, though, so she lifted him out of the cart and he snuggled into her shoulder with a sigh of contentment.  I marveled, not at the beauty of the child (even though he was absolutely delicious), but at how wondrously designed our bodies are.  The curve of the mother’s neck was perfectly proportioned to accommodate the baby’s sleepy head, her shoulder nicely rounded to accept his fat little arm, her shoulder blade smooth and flat to feel the tap, tap, tap of the baby’s gentle pats.

The beauty of that moment made me forget the impatience of the checkout, my long list of errands, the pile of work waiting on my desk. I remembered with…

View original post 412 more words

Leave a Reply

